My ḥijāb حجاب

Posted on May 9, 2011

0


Today I went for a walk. I took a photo of myself wearing a scarf which protected me from the sun and the wind. Is this how I would look as a Muslim woman?

I am an Australian woman with great freedom, which I cherish.

We hear of so many tensions in the world at the moment- Iran, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Syria, Yemen, Libya, Bahrain, Egypt etc… It is complex and contains much history.

I would like to remind people what it says in the old sacred texts: the Qur’an, the Torah and the Bible:

Islam: “….anyone who murders any person who had not committed murder or horrendous crimes, it shall be as if he murdered all the people.” (Qur’an 5:32)

Judaism: “Do not murder” Murdering a human being is a capital sin.

Christianity:You shall not kill” “You shall not murder.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ten_Commandments

If we are reflective, not extremist, we would not kill each other.

Life is sacred. Nature is sacred. The Earth is sacred. Treat yourself and others with great care. Love one another.

Posted in: Uncategorized